Recently Added to TBR

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s list is “Ten Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately.” 

gemina Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

How could this not be number one? It was added to my list recently because I only read Illuminae last month and immediately loved the different but engaging way the story was told and cannot wait to read Gemina!

nevernight Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

After reading Illuminae and found out that Jay Kristoff had another book it was added to my list without a second thought. (And how amazing is this cover!?)

tales-of-the-peculiar Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

Firstly, if you haven’t read the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children trilogy yet – do it! I was SUPER excited when I heard Random Riggs was releasing Tales of the Peculiar, plus with one of the most gorgeous covers ever! I can’t wait to get to this and back to the world of Peculiars.

reasons-to-stay-alive Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig

I’ll admit it’s rare for me to add a non-fiction as it’s one of the genres I don’t have a lot of interest reading but when I read about this book it was an exception. The author shares how he has learned to live with depression and anxiety and how to make the most of your time and enjoy your life.

fantastic-beasts-screenplay Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J.K. Rowling

I’ve been looking forward to the Fantastic Beasts movie ever since I heard it was happening (side note: I’m f*cking over the moon about it being a 5 movie franchise!). I didn’t know until recently that the original screenplay was being released, and was promptly added to my TBR list.

milk-and-honey milk and honey by Rupi Kaur

Again another type of book that I wouldn’t usually read is a poetry book. I’ve never been into poetry too much but the discription on Goodreads says: “milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.” It instantly drew me to this book and I desperately want to read it!

holding-up-the-universe Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

I fell in love with Niven’s last book All the Bright Places and I’m hoping that her new book is just as amazing as her last, with characters that you just fall in love with.

the-fever-code The Fever Code by James Dashner

I read The Maze Runner series a few years ago and flew through it because I loved it so much and I loved reading the prequel, The Kill Order, as it was set around 10-15 years before The Maze Runner series and gave a background story of how the world started (not quite how the world started but the sequence of events that lead to the Maze Runner series – just don’t want to give too much away). This book is set just before The Maze Runner (but after The Kill Order) so it fills in a few more gaps in the wonderful world Dashner has created.

we-are-the-ants We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

This book is about Henry who is abducted by aliens who give him the option of pressing a button to save the world from an impending disaster. This sounds like such a good book and has some great reviews (plus it has an amazing cover).

the-green-mile The Green Mile by Stephen King

My mum recently gave me a few Stephen King books to read that were hers and I put them on my shelf but didn’t intend to get around to them any time soon but I read the synopsis for The Green Mile and it sounds so good so I put it on my TBR list. (The other King books are on my TBR but further down the list).

So there are 10 books that I recently added to my list and intend to get to at some point (hopefully sooner rather than later!).

Let me know if you’ve read any of these and what you think of them!

For now I need to get reading so I can get onto these books.hermione-opening-book-in-crowd

One thought on “Recently Added to TBR

Leave a Reply

