Books I Loved More/Less Than I Thought I Would

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s list is “Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would (recently or all time) — or you could do something like books I liked more/less than everyone else.” 

Instead of doing a list of 10 of one option, I’m doing 5 books I loved more than I thought I would and 5 books I loved less than I thought.

5 Books I Loved More Than I Thought I Would:

1. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

illuminae
From the synopsis and from flipping through the pages, this would be a book I’d never ever pick up in a million years – sci-fi isn’t really my cup of tea and neither was the style of writing the story is told in (set out in IMs, schematics, interviews, hacked documents, etc.). I’m so glad I took a chance with it and trusted the MANY positive things I heard.
I. Love. This. Book.

 

2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

a-court-of-thorns-and-rosesI’d seen this book around everywhere and was highly praised but I had no idea what it was about, so I thought I’d give it a go. It was on my TBR for SOOOOOOO long because at the time, I didn’t read a lot of high fantasy books like that (actually, I hadn’t read anything like that in a very long time) and usually stuck to what I was comfortable reading (contemporary, romance, and a bit of dystopian). So I put off reading it and read others before it before I finally got around to it last April. I was just a few chapters in and I was HOOKED. Hook, line, and sinker. Finished ACOTAR and immediately pre-ordered A Court of Mist and Fury. This series has become one of my favourite series (with ACOMAF being one of my fave books. Ever).
This amazing books was also the book that got me reading more fantasy novels – which is rapidly becoming my favourite genre! I steered clear of this genre, not intentionally, but it sort of intimidated me trying to get into a whole other world. Since reading it I’ve only picked up a few contemporaries and instead read way more fantasy!

3. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

all-the-light-we-cannot-seeOne genre I usually don’t pick up is historical novels. The few I have read were mainly ones I had to read for school. However, I read The Book Thief (which, if you haven’t read, YOU HAVE TO BECAUSE IT’S BEAUTIFUL AND AMAZING), and because I adored that book I read the synopsis of this one and it was a similar sounding book (a beautiful WWII novel). It’s definitely an “if you love The Book Thief you will love this” book. It is a duel perspective told from Marie-Laure, a blind french girl who has to flee Paris with her father, and from Werner, a german orphan whose skills in building and fixing things lead him to be put in a Hitler Youth school.
I cannot begin to tell you how beautiful this novel is! Highly recommend and I’m so glad I gave it a chance!! (Also, it was the winner of the 2015 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.)

4. The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

the-light-between-oceans
Similar to All the Light We Cannot See, I wasn’t quite sure if I would like this book because it was a historical novel. Boy, was I proved wrong. I couldn’t stop reading as I was desperate to find out how the story would turn out. I recommended this to my mum and she just finished it a few days ago and, like me, she couldn’t put it down and was conflicted about what to feel and what she would do in that situation.

 

5. The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

the-girl-with-all-the-gifts

The Girl With All the Gifts is a sort of horror/post-apocalyptic/zombie/thriller/sci-fi kind of genre. Again, not the sort of book I’d pick up and it did take me a while to get into it but it started to really pick up and I found myself unable to put it down. It’s a thrilling and original book with fantastic characters!

 


5 Books I Loved Less Than I Thought I Would:

1. Paper Towns by John Green

paper-townsThis was the second book my John Green, the first being The Fault in Our Stars, and I didn’t mind TIFIOS and Paper Towns was a popular choice so I gave it a go.
Did not like it.
The main character frustrated the shit out of me and was way too obsessed with this wishy-washy, oh-so-perfect, attention-seeking girl (who, can you guess, I also didn’t like?) I didn’t really care for the characters at all and the only thing that kept me reading was my constant need to finish a book and to not leave anything unfinished.
It has put me off reading the rest of his books for a while. I did read Let It Snow but he wrote that with two other authors and it was an alright book.

2. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

me-and-earl-and-the-dying-girlThe only thing I’d heard about this book was that it was humorous and while it was at times, the rest of it didn’t do anything for me. It was written as though it was the main character writing it, often talking to the reader and it may be just me but I hated it. And similar to Paper Towns, the main character annoyed the shit out of me. I wasn’t at all surprised when his best friend yelled at him about how irritating he was being and he basically voiced everything that was going through my head. It was a sweet plot but it didn’t do anything for me and the main character and the style of writing brought it down for me.

3. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

gone-girlThere was so much hype around this book, and I do get why! It’s a mystery thriller with a twist but that was the only thing that made me keep going. The second half of the book got more interesting but the two main characters were awful. I’ve read Flynn’s two other books and I can see that she writes unreliable and sometimes unlikeable narrators, but Nick and Amy were so annoying to read about. I thought the movie would be better but I thought it was super boring. While I didn’t really like Gone Girl, I do recommend Flynn’s other novels Dark Places and Sharp Objects! Also, if you’re looking for a good thriller similar to Gone Girl, then The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins is soooo much better!

4. Just One Day by Gayle Forman

just-one-day
I was recommended this book by a friend who loves Forman’s books and similar sort of books (YA contemporary/romance type books). I’d previously read some of her other books like the If I Stay duology, which was alright, and I Was Here which is probably my favourite of hers as it had a mystery throughout. Just One Day (and Just One Year which is the second in the duology) was super cute and I did like it but I just didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would.

5. Landline by Rainbow Rowell

landlineI am a huge fan of Rowell and all of her books! Landline was an interesting story, it’s just I was just a little disappointed that I didn’t enjoy this books as much as I enjoyed her other novels. (Also, this has nothing to do with my enjoyment of the story itself, throughout the book there are pop culture references which I loved but it was just that at the same time I was reading Landline I was watching the show Lost and I’d never seen it before and there was a HUGE spoiler about how the show ends – like I said this has nothing to do with the novel, it just kinda sucked for me how unfortunate that was).

 

4 thoughts on “Books I Loved More/Less Than I Thought I Would

Leave a Reply

