Friday Book Share – All the Bright Places

This week’s Friday Book Share (created by Shelley Wilson – LINK HERE) I’m sharing All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven!

The purpose is to share books you’ve enjoyed by following the FRIDAY acronym:

First line of the book

Recruit fans by adding the blurb

Introduce the main character using only three words

Delightful design (add the cover of the book)

Audience appeal (who would enjoy reading this book?)

Your favourite line/scene

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

First line of the book:

“Is today a good day to die?”

Recruit fans by adding the blurb:

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Introduce the main character using only three words:

Finch: Spontaneous. Intelligent. Broken.

Violet: Popular. Struggling. Kind.

Delightful design:

all-the-bright-places

Audience appeal:

This book is great for people who like YA contemporary books and don’t mind reading a book that heavily focuses on suicide and mental illness.

Your favourite lines/scenes:

“The thing I realize is, that it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.”

“The problem with people is they forget that most of the time it’s the small things that count.”

“When you consider things like the stars, our affairs don’t seem to matter very much, do they?”

“Listen, I’m the freak. I’m the weirdo. I’m the troublemaker. I start fights. I let people down. Don’t make Finch mad, whatever you do. Oh, there he goes again, in one of his moods. Moody Finch. Angry Finch. Unpredictable Finch. Crazy Finch. But I’m not a compilation of symptoms. Not a casualty of shitty parents and an even shittier chemical makeup. Not a problem. Not a diagnosis. Not an illness. Not something to be rescued. I’m a person.”

Hope you enjoyed another Friday Book Share! 🙂 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s